Goodbye Skiing, Hello Europe!

Standard

ImageOnce again time has gotten away from me and it has been too long since by last post, but things are about to get very exciting around here!

Yesterday marked the end of my ski season and the completion of Part Two of my year of adulthood denial. I clocked about 60 days on skis this winter and think I have had my fill for a while. Hopefully 60 days was enough to tie me over until the next time I can get on skis, probably not until Winter 2015 unfortunately, but that is life.

My season ended out strong with cold nights keeping the conditions together so we didn’t get too much melt damage and the mountain is staying open for a few more weekends which is great. It is sad to be leaving Gore Mountain after 5 years of teaching in their Ski School and 10 years of skiing at the mountain, but all good things must come to an end and I am just glad that I was able to spend as much time at the mountain as I did this winter.

Last day of skiing Winter 2012/2013Now I am back on Long Island (for the moment). I packed up the house upstate and drove home yesterday after working the morning and saying goodbye. But now that I am back at my parents house the countdown to Europe has officially begun–7 days until this girl boards a plane and heads off on what I am sure is going to be the trip of a lifetime! And while I am very excited for next week, I have quite a bit to get done before I can say goodbye to the US for 6-weeks, starting with the pile of boxes that is currently staring me down from across the room! Yesterday I packed up one house and moved into another and while I thought my packing system was very well thought out, having spent the morning unpacking and organizing I am doubting my methods. I tried to separate the things that I will be taking with me to Chicago in August but not using until then, from the things that I need for the summer, which was all well and good except for one tiny detail–I forgot to label the boxes. My time-saving plan didn’t work out quite the way I had hoped.

Note: When moving ALWAYS remember to label what is in each box! It will save you a lot of headache. 

Oh well, once the boxes are finished I can at least cross that off my to-do list which seems to never stop growing. This time next week I will be in another packing nightmare, packing and re-packing my backpacking trying to decide of I really need an extra sweater or not. Until then . . .

About Shelby

Shelby is a recent graduate of Michigan State University with a degree in Professional Writing focusing of Editing and Publishing. A native New Yorker from the eastern end of Long Island, she is spending her first post-college year working at a winery in the fall, teaching skiing over the winter, traveling in the spring, all while exploring the world of writing. She loves books, baking, holidays, being outside, exploring, and drinking ridiculous amount of coffee and tea.

Your Thoughts?

