Happy February 14th!

Standard

ImageHello all of you love birds, hopeless romantics, and fellow singles out there. It is February 14th and we all know what that means . . . the Dreaded Valentines Day!

I don’t think I am alone in is saying that  have never had a really good Valentines Day, although I honestly can’t say that I have had a really bad one either. But in honor of this day despised or cherished by so many, I thought I would share a few of my Valentines Day stories:

Middle School, 5th grade:

I was a particularly shy child and throughout the course of Middle School I had a grand total of 3 crushes. The second in this series encompassed my brain for the better part of 2nd to 7th grade, making what I am about to tell you all the sadder. It was a day or two before Valentines Day and my crush (one of the most popular boys in my grade) surrounded by his group of friends approached  (at the time it felt like they cornered) me in the hallway. The said dreamy boy asked me if I liked him, to which responded by starting to laugh, turning bright red, saying NO very loudly, and quickly walk/running away. Little did I know at the time but found out the next day from one of my friends that he in fact liked me. Cue sad music. Oh the dramas of Middle School, being the shy stupid little girl that I was, I decided I was too embarrassed to correct the situation and continued to write his name in hearts on my notebooks for the next 2 years before finally coming to my senses and moving on with my life.

Freshman Year of High School:

Now this story could have had a happy ending if the course of events was a tiny bit less creepy, I hadn’t half thought it was a sick joke, and wasn’t breaking the girl code–so really this one was doomed from the start. My elementary/middle school merged with another few towns for high school, introducing the girls from my small town to a much larger pool of boys. One of these boys (who we will refer to as “S”) who sat in front of me in my freshman seminar class and was constantly telling jokes and caught my attention immediately. Unfortunately another girl  “C” who I became good friends with was his best friend and she had a MAJOR crush on him. Well with the unfortunate nature of the situation obvious to everyone who knew S, C, and me it was no surprise when neither S or I acted upon our mutual feelings, that is until Valentines Day. That morning S showed up to school with a giant red teddy bear and a big box of chocolates. I saw him walking through the hallways and I assumed he was finally going to ask C out, as she had been hinting to me that something was going on with them for a few weeks. Well nope, he walked over to me, threw them in my face, turned almost the color of the bear and ran away. Our class together was only first semester so I normally didn’t see him during the day but that day he seemed to be standing around every corner. We never spoke again.

Freshman Year of College:

My high school boyfriend who I was still dating long-distance–he went to school in Boston while I was in Michigan–flew out for the weekend. We had a nice weekend. We got dressed up, went out to a nice sushi restaurant, and walked back to my dorm along the river. Just as we returned to my room, I got a phone call from my best friend asking me where the campus police station was? It turns out that while I had been distracted, having my first Valentines Day date her boyfriend had been arrested and spent the better part of the day in jail for intoxication while she frantically tried to find out what happened to him as he wasn’t responding to calls or texts. She spent the rest of her Valentines Day sitting in the campus jail waiting for him to sober up enough to be released. She told me not to come wait with her, which I felt guilty about for the rest of the night, and our nice weekend took a turn.

My First Valentines Day School-Free:

Today is my first “real life” Valentines Day and I must saying living in the remote, isolated place that I currently do I can’t help but notice how much nicer Valentines Day is when there aren’t a million people around shoving their bliss or misery down your throat! My dad was nice enough to have flowers delivered to me yesterday which was really sweet and I have spent the day cleaning the house in preparation for my family and some friends to arrive tonight, who are

Don't let Valentines Day get you down!

Don’t let Valentines Day get you down!

going to take me out to dinner. Now isn’t that what Valentines Day is about, spending a nice quiet day with people who are important in your life? All of the chocolates and flowers and cards and over-the-top holiday madness only results in too high expectations and disappointment. My advice for ensuring that you enjoy future Valentines Days (unless you are one of those people who always has amazing Feb 14ths in which case tell us your secrets!)–take the pressure off. It is just another day. If you have a special person in your life that’s great, but it’s no reason to drive both of you crazy coming up with special gifts and moments! And if your single whats the trouble? Valentines Day is about being with the people you love, not just your significant other. Don’t let al the fuss and unrealistic expectations ruin your February 14th!

If you have disaster Valentines Day stories feel free to share in comments below!

About Shelby

Shelby is a recent graduate of Michigan State University with a degree in Professional Writing focusing of Editing and Publishing. A native New Yorker from the eastern end of Long Island, she is spending her first post-college year working at a winery in the fall, teaching skiing over the winter, traveling in the spring, all while exploring the world of writing. She loves books, baking, holidays, being outside, exploring, and drinking ridiculous amount of coffee and tea.

Your Thoughts?

