Oh! by Eric Hutchinson

Video

Paste a Video URL

While absent-mindedly occupying myself on Pintrest with Pandora playing in the background I came across the song: Oh! by Eric Hutchinson, and it sort of smacked me across the face and then reverberated around for a while in my skull.

The part that really caught my attention was the chorus: “And I’m never sure what I’m living for but it’s always on my mind. Someone comes along always proves me wrong. Think I’m gonna be fine.”

How fantastic is that, and how true? Who can really with any certainty (particularly in their 20s) say what they are living for? What are we doing, where are we going? It changes everyday don’t you think?  I am a big fan of the 6-month, 5-year, 10-year plan mentality but I also recognize that we need a certain level of spontaneity and uncertainty in our lives. We need to let ourselves be ridiculous and enjoy making the poor life choices in order to give ourselves the pleasure of then putting our lives back together.

I was just yesterday talking to a friend who said he was thinking of leaving his job to move out to LA. He told me, “I feel as though I’m looking for an excuse to drop everything here and make the rash decision to move.” That is a mentality that I can 100% relate to. I am making the move to Chicago this summer, and that was a decision decided on a whim (to be honest most of my major life-changing decisions are). My friend was in need of a roommate and I was in need of some new surroundings. I know myself well enough to know that come summertime I will be looking for ‘an excuse to drop everything’ and sometimes you have to indulge yourself a little and allow those rash decisions, the ones that you know aren’t the safe choice, but generally are the smartest. I am moving to a city that I have never set foot in with no job prospect at the moment and I am beyond excited about it. Money is going to be tight and I know there are going to be more than a few difficulties but I also know that I like a good challenge and if I know nothing else one thing I can say with absolute certainty is, I’m gonna be fine.

One response »

Your Thoughts?

