Back to Reality

Standard

I have spent the last week plus in blissful denial of reality, as I worked my way through the 140 something episodes that make up the 6 seasons of Dawson’s Creek. Now why did I become a couch potato you might ask? First and foremost I needed a good cry as all girls do now and then and there is no quicker way to make this particular girl cry than to turn on a will-they-won’t-they love story (and in this case, a particularly relatable one)!  But what I didn’t know when setting out on this little Netflix adventure was how much this one 90s melodrama from my childhood would make me think, about life, about love, about what the friendships I have made over the years mean, and more importantly about the decisions that I have made. And while I must admit that while I am embarrassed to say that this months big epiphany was inspired by a 90s teen soap, this is true and there is no point in denying it now.

While I would like to believe that I am smarter in affairs of love and life than Ms. Joey Potter, having now watched every minute of every episode I can’t say that I am. I stumble and I blunder and I have made one or two less than informed decision in my life, but I can’t help but know that regardless of my ill-informed decisions when it comes to love, there is hope and one day I will get it right, but until then I am more than content to continue down this confusing road that is being a 21-year-old girl. So I will enjoy the ride, welcoming unexpected turns, hoping for a good plot twists, and knowing that whatever life has in store for me the best surprises are yet to come!

This post is sappy and sentimental I know, but when  living in a ski town that currently offers very limited skiing on top of my big empty house, I find myself doing a dangerous amount of thinking and I must say internet goers, given the number of times I have written this post in my head while working my way through the many seasons, you got off lucky, this is a relatively short ramble. But never fear, there is much more interesting stuff to come–including, but not limited to: recipes for some of my wonderfully cheap dinners for one, and possibly even a good story or two from this weekends adventure to Boston for a certain best friends 21st birthday, so until then!

About Shelby

Shelby is a recent graduate of Michigan State University with a degree in Professional Writing focusing of Editing and Publishing. A native New Yorker from the eastern end of Long Island, she is spending her first post-college year working at a winery in the fall, teaching skiing over the winter, traveling in the spring, all while exploring the world of writing. She loves books, baking, holidays, being outside, exploring, and drinking ridiculous amount of coffee and tea.

2 responses »

  1. After also partaking in a Dawson’s Creek binge, I agree with the Joey Potter love, who at 16 breaks up with another 16 year old to “find herself?” Get it girl. Also, I love love love the new design, truly fantastic!

    Please don’t judge the G Free is the way to be Blog I created and then quickly abandoned. At least I have the domain name?

    • I LOVE GFreeIsTheWayToBe! I hope that you start posting–I actually have a couple good recipes if you are looking, just saying.

Your Thoughts?

