My friends engaged . . . WHAT?!

Standard

So on my blustery day off, the day after a very exciting election, and with Sandy Part 2 raging outside, I am sitting at home, drinking hot chocolate, going back and forth between Sex and the City and my new book Confessions of a Counterfeit Farm Girl (which so far I really recommend) when the episode where Aidan proposes to Carrie comes on, and the whole time I am thinking, ugh I don’t want to get married anytime soon, I hope none of my friends get married soon, we are too young, that’s such a big commitment, blah blah blah . . . when I switch over to Facebook and Wow, Bang, Crash what do I see but that one of my friends just got engaged! Could the universe have planned that any more perfectly? So what do I do after texting to confirm that this is real and not a Facebook joke, which certain friends of mine (not this one) have been known to do? I fill up my hot chocolate, open another packet of cookies, and begin to write.

Now don’t get me wrong, I LOVE weddings, I am a wedding fanatic, I am weddings number one fan! I am on Pintrest like the rest of the female population, I read Bride magazine, and I used to have a dream wedding PowerPoint, but none of those things meant that I was actually considering getting married anytime soon! Let me take a minute to clarify here that I am over the moon happy for her. If she wants to get engaged and married at 22 than all the more power to her, but that is definitely not on my to-do list anytime soon.

As us in-denial adults pass through our 20s, odds are that people we know will get engaged and married and buy houses and get exciting jobs and have babies and become fully-functioning members of society. Last summer a friend of mine got married, and I went to a co-workers wedding in September, so I am aware that there are people out there getting married, but I still can’t believe it. What I think is so frightening about this particular friend of mines engagement is that 1) I never expected it, 2) she wants to do very similar things in life as I do, 3) she just moved with him to NYC, 4) she just graduated with me, and 5) I just really didn’t expect this. Granted we are not super close friends, I haven’t known her for very long, and she and I are not the kind of friends who call or text each other very often, nor have I ever met her boyfri . . . I mean fiancé! But still these things are a bit of a slap in the face as I then find myself evaluating my life with no boyfriend or prospects, no real job, living at home, and now that I write those all next to each other wow does that look depressing!

I am not looking to throw a pity party–I am really not. I chose to not have a real job for the year, to be living at home for the time being, and while I would not exactly say that I “chose” not to have a boyfriend, I am not really looking for one and am quite content without one for the moment, so please no sympathy or pity needed over here, but am I alone in not wanting to even start thinking about the possibility of considering marriage until I am in the 25-30 range? Opinions on marriage in your 20s anyone?

About Shelby

Shelby is a recent graduate of Michigan State University with a degree in Professional Writing focusing of Editing and Publishing. A native New Yorker from the eastern end of Long Island, she is spending her first post-college year working at a winery in the fall, teaching skiing over the winter, traveling in the spring, all while exploring the world of writing. She loves books, baking, holidays, being outside, exploring, and drinking ridiculous amount of coffee and tea.

Your Thoughts?

