Living Life

Standard

Every day I receive an email from Goodreads with their quote of the day. I like to read these emails as I am leaving work to hopefully (depending on that days pick) give me a little kick for the evening, because we all need our little daily pick-me-ups.  Todays quote by Oscar Wilde did just that, give my a kick for the day and a bit of a slap in the face.

“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.”– Oscar Wilde

While I would like to say that I live life rather than simply exist within it, recently I have been doing more of the latter. As I said in my pervious post, being an adult is hard and it is easy to let the challenges of my new schedule get in the way. It takes effort to make time for fun, for exploration, for adventure, and for me into my busy work-filled schedule.

When I leave the winery after a 10-hour day of climbing barrels, dragging hoses, and other physically demanding tasks I am TIRED. That was especially true today, as I worked on my day off because I had to take Sunday off to drive a 12-hours round trip for a 6-hour ski instructor re-hire meeting. I am glad that I went to the meeting, but the trip left me severely sleep deprived. After working yet another 10-hour day with my “weekend” not coming for another 7 days all I wanted to do was go home, eat dinner, and crawl into bed, but I refuse to become complacent! Am I going to live it or aren’t I? So while it was a small effort, rather than driving straight home I took the scenic drive and watched the sunset, a simple yet necessary decision. There are few places that I feel more centred, calm, and content than when I am next to the ocean and that peaceful feeling was exactly what I needed after these last few caffeine filled days.

While I am tired that is no excuse. I keep finding myself saying “I’ll get to that when I have more time” or “I’ll do that during ski season” but the reality is I am a serial procrastinator and next week has a tendency to become next month, next year, and never. It is time for my to-do list stopped growing! So no more excuses and no more complacency, let the adventures begin!

About Shelby

Shelby is a recent graduate of Michigan State University with a degree in Professional Writing focusing of Editing and Publishing. A native New Yorker from the eastern end of Long Island, she is spending her first post-college year working at a winery in the fall, teaching skiing over the winter, traveling in the spring, all while exploring the world of writing. She loves books, baking, holidays, being outside, exploring, and drinking ridiculous amount of coffee and tea.

Your Thoughts?

