Adulthood is Difficult

Standard

Damn me and my spastic typing I just accidentally deleted a perfectly wonderful post on the joys and pitfalls of being an adult. And while I would like to say screw it I am tired, I have a long day of work ahead of me tomorrow, and then a 5-hour drive upstate I am an adult now and “with great power comes great responsibilities” so here we go for round 2!

I sat down at my computer with full intentions to write a post about how being an adult sucks (and it does, the stories and TV shows lied–it is not a fairytale and nothing gets easier after college). However, as I started typing I realized that why yes adulthood is difficult, the difficultly is why I like it.

I hate spending hours at the DMV and arguing with my mechanic, but I love my brand new car that is completely owned and paid for by me.

I hate paying bills and loans and having to be constantly thinking about budgets and money. But I love looking at my check book and realizing that yes, I am doing this and I love depositing my pay check and watching my balance grow.

I hate waking up at 6am every morning to get ready for work knowing that I won’t get back home until 7pm, but I love that I can go to sleep early and feel no guilt what so ever.

I hate getting to the check out line of the grocery store and realizing that once again I have spent more money on food that I intended, but I love that I can have whatever I want for dinner every night.

I hate having to remember to take the laundry out of the dryer, and the dishes from the dishwasher, and all of the other household things that need cleaning, but I get a certain satisfaction from seeing all of those tasks completed.

I hate knowing that all of my friends are having so much fun at college while I am working  60 hours a week. But I love that I don’t have to take exams or do homework or get up for class ever again.

This best describes my current stance on adulthood.

This best describes my current stance on adulthood. I could go on but I think you are getting the idea. Adulthood is like nothing that you ever imagined. It is hard and lonely and difficult. You do not go out and have fun nearly as much as you would like. You are constantly thinking about money and bills and whether or not you sent the last bill in on time. Your to-do list seems to be never ending and you are always running out of shampoo or detergent but these little daily troubles are what make it so much fun. I like running out to the grocery store at 9pm because I forgot to buy ingredients and I love coming home to a quiet empty house. I love the daily bustle and the early bedtimes. I love grumbling and complaining and reciting Jenna Marbles “I hate being a grown up,” just because I can. This life is nothing like what I expected and I hope that it continues to surprise me!

About Shelby

Shelby is a recent graduate of Michigan State University with a degree in Professional Writing focusing of Editing and Publishing. A native New Yorker from the eastern end of Long Island, she is spending her first post-college year working at a winery in the fall, teaching skiing over the winter, traveling in the spring, all while exploring the world of writing. She loves books, baking, holidays, being outside, exploring, and drinking ridiculous amount of coffee and tea.

Your Thoughts?

