Life Begins in the Fall

Standard

For the majority of the world “new life” and “growth” are associated with the springtime, however in my world life begins in the Fall. As the leaves start falling and the degrees rapidly decrease I begin to come alive once again, emerging from my summer hibernation. What better way to begin your year than with trees bursting with color, hot apple cider, pumpkin picking, apple pies, cold nights, sweaters, slippers, crackling fires, Halloween, harvest in wine country, the promise of snow . . . is there anything better? No, not until that first snow begins to fall, but lets not get ahead of ourselves. With the changing of seasons I felt it was necessary to create a change in my own life as well. As a recent college graduate and a self proclaimed bum for the remaining 6 months of my “year off” from life I felt the need to commit to something tangible, something that when this year of wonderful relaxation and adventure is over I can look back on and say “Yes, I did that!”

While I have decided to commit, do not expect organized posts with a clear beginning, middle, and end. I am a great believer in organized chaos and I plan for that to quickly ensue. On the note of chaos, let me switch gears for a minute and provide a little background information for you. I am a native New Yorker, born and bread on the eastern end of Long Island. I graduated from Michigan State University with a degree in Professional Writing focusing on Editing and Publishing. I love caffeine, the beach, skiing, writing, reading, baking, travelling, eating, and anything to do with wine. My year off plan is: May to August working at a Tasting Room, September to November working harvest at a winery, December to March teaching skiing in upstate NY, April onwards, applying for jobs and travelling. It is a simple plan filled with all of the things that I love to do! So follow along and enjoy the ride as I put the life plan on hold and take the first deep breath that I have taken in a few too many years!

About Shelby

Shelby is a recent graduate of Michigan State University with a degree in Professional Writing focusing of Editing and Publishing. A native New Yorker from the eastern end of Long Island, she is spending her first post-college year working at a winery in the fall, teaching skiing over the winter, traveling in the spring, all while exploring the world of writing. She loves books, baking, holidays, being outside, exploring, and drinking ridiculous amount of coffee and tea.

Your Thoughts?

